Test=Stressed?

FCAT official blue logo

FCAT official blue logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Test =Stressed? Doesn’t have to be. For some of us, this can be a pretty hectic month as some of our children will be preparing & taking the FCAT test in DCPS. I use to be as stressed as my children. I would let the things around me cause me to be focused on the things that are not even of importance in that season. And because of that, my kids slacked in school. They were unfocused & unengaged and my husband was just not concerned because he figured I had it all under control. So this year, I redirected my focus to family. This creates better performance & participation from my husband & children. I spend more time at home creating a space where we function in a loving and attentive environment. Now, this is not as easy as writing this. We have speed bumps for sure and we are still learning this together. The key is to not have your children stressed at home and school. It will be hard for he/she to pay attention. They would rather seek attention, most often the wrong attention, and that can be fatal to your child’s education and future. Making your home as organized and functional as possible shows stability and focus & they will exemplify that outside the home.
If you do have kids/students who are taking the FCAT test, here are some essentially good steps to ensure they are well prepared for test day. These are just some of the things I do to help my kids prepare for test day. What are some things you do to help prepare your kids & family for testing week?

*Get plenty of rest – 8-10 hours of sleep
*Eat a healthy dinner before bed- don’t want an upset tummy at night
*Eat a breakfast for Champs- protein, fruit, toast to name a few- helps with brain function
*Limit sugary snacks & drink
*Limit social media & T.V. watching
*Get out & play – Boost energy & gets blood pumping
*Pray – Pray & declare God’s promises over them each & every day

Most of us moms are managers of our home so it’s important to know what is going on as it relates to FCAT week. I’ll share some links I thought would be helpful in staying abreast in what’s happening in Florida as it relates to our children in school.

 

3 thoughts on “Test=Stressed?

  1. Howdy! This blog post could not be written any better! Looking at this article reminds me of my previous
    roommate! He constantly kept talking about this. I most certainly will forward this information to him.
    Pretty sure he’ll have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  2. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz respond as I’m looking to construct my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thanks

Leave a Reply

